Great Bookish Bake off – Maple Syrup Drizzle Cake

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

img_8246

So, my grandad gifted me a bottle of maple syrup and as bake off no longer exists and I have nothing else cake related to do on a Wednesday I decided to attempt some sort of cake involving maple syrup and came up with this weird but super nice and Autumnal maple syrup drizzle cake!

What you will need:

150g self raising flour
150g brown sugar
150g butter (I used vegan butter but you can use whatever!)
1 table spoon of cinnamon
1 table spoon of Maple Syrup
2 table spoons apple sauce (this was my egg substitute, so either use eggs or whatever other kind of replacement you like)
3 table spoons of water
scales
a mixing bowl
electric whisk
a loaf tin
The book of your choice. I was reading Whispers Underground, the third Rivers of London book – if you’ve never checked out this series before, do it! They’re amazing!

So, in the mixing bowl put the flour, sugar, butter, cinnamon, syrup and sauce into a bowl and start to whisk, once it starts coming together, add the water and continue mixing until you get a nice smooth mixture. Pour into a lined loaf tin and cook on 180 for 45 minutes. Which is ample time for reading! The Rivers of London books are kind of how I imagine life is like for ex Hogwarts students, Peter Grant is after all a police officer who also happens to be a wizard and spends his time solving supernatural crimes in London. If that doesn’t sound awesome enough, the whole thing is just so well written and funny and I did almost a little bit let the cake burn… I didn’t though its all good!
Once the 45 minutes are up, check the loaf is cooked and then stab it a little and pour a bit more maple syrup over the top. Leave it for a few minutes to soak in and then eat that bad boy because dear God, if there was ever something you didn’t know you needed, this is it.

Leave a Reply

