November round up

November feels like its crept up on me and now its only weeks before the end of the year! I think we can all agree that the world feels like a very strange place thanks to events of November and I don’t really know where we go from here… In more local news, this month saw my niece turn five (HOW ON EARTH IS SHE FIVE YEARS OLD?!), I joined the Emotional Roadshow in Brussels and though the trip wasn’t quite as planned, Brussels was a very interesting place and the show was amazing, you can see more of that here! I also got to see Billy Elliot live on stage (by jove that was fun) and spend time in my home town hanging out with the fam. My parents and I did a tour of the Houses of Parliament, which was so good, I also got to witness my dad get mad at tourists for ruining his photo op when he was being a complete tourist! Actually, I spent a lot of time with my parents this month which has been really nice.

What I read this month:

26117652The Rest of us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
Urgh. I love Patrick Ness so muuuuuch. So, like, you know all those stories where the unlikely hero/heroine is just this teenage kid that goes around slaying demons/ saving the world whilst handing in their history homework and stuff? Do you ever wonder whats going on with their classmates and what they think of the situation? Well, wonder no more! This is the story of Mikey, his friends and his family who live in a town regularly invaded by aliens, vampires etc but its ok because they’re not the chosen ones and the indie kids at school always sort those problems out for them which is fair enough cos Mikey has enough going on with his dysfunctional family life and all he wants to do is graduate and go to prom before yet another apocalypse begins so… Just pure and utter brilliance once again from someone who is fast becoming my favourite author ever. I’m not sure if by writing this Ness is admitting to being a complete Buffy fan boy or if he hates it, but either way. AWESOME. Also, if you didn’t know, Patrick Ness is the writer behind the Doctor Who spin off – Class, which is as the title suggests, Class. Check it out!

10814687Whispers Underground – Ben Aaronovitch
Finally I got around to reading the next in the Rivers of London series! I love the way these are written, I’ve said it before, the Peter Grant books are how I hoped the Harry Potter series would end up. Other than the magic, the wonderful narration, the humour and the way the mysteries are shaped, I do love books where the setting itself ends up being a character and as I love the city of London and know it well, its always a bit special seeing all these places I’ve stomped around coming to life as Peter goes about his business!

20733840Mr Penumbra’s 24 hour book store – Robin Sloane
This has been on my to read list for what feels like forever, then Sophie posted a review, so I had to bump it up a few spaces! Also according to my goodreads (be my friend?) a couple of other people started reading this around the same time as I did, so I’m looking forward to their thoughts! This was one of those really addicting books that I kind of felt lost without, its a mystery set around a bookshop with an enigmatic owner and has the power of google and the power of books coming together to solve the puzzle! That’s about as much as I can say without ruining it completely. If nothing else, you have to love a book about books!

16122237Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Newt Scamander
(Should I credit this to JK Rowling or is putting Newt’s name on it ok?) After watching the film, I thought I ought to return to the magical world and so picked this up! Fun fact, I brought this with my first ever wage packet and haven’t looked at it since! While its a shame that this doesn’t include instructions on how to do the mating dance as beautifully demonstrated by Eddie Redmayne in the movie, it does fill my Harry Potter loving heart with joy!

Films I watched this month:

You may have noticed if you follow me on twitter, have been keeping up with my Film reviews in 10 tweets or less posts or this video, that I really like films and that I spend a lot of time watching them, so here are all the films (some new, some rewatches) that graced my television this month!

  • In Bruges
    Thought it would be a good way to prepare for going to Belgium. It just made me want to go to Bruges too!
  • The Aristocats
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
    This was so charming! I was a bit wary what with how bad the cursed child script is and the fact that Johnny Depp was named as a cast member, but it was just so lovely! I nerded out about it for about a week after seeing it and now I have so many theories and I love Newt and I want to give Credence a hug!

TV I watched his month:

  • Once Upon A Time
  • Class
  • The Missing
    It was recommended that I catch up on this and dear God, if you need a thriller that keeps you guessing at every turn you should track this down!
  • How to get away with murder
    All I have to say on this is Coliver: 
    iwillgodownwiththisship
  • Supernatural
  • Brooklyn Nine Nine
  • Gilmore Girls: Year in the Life
    I don’t know how I feel about the revival. On the one hand there is all the Luke/Loralai which I LOVED, the life and death brigade came back which I LOVED, Emily had the best storyline and there were so many wonderfully nostalgic moments but then there was that weird musical number and the destruction of Rory and the barely mentioned Lane and barely any Sookie and how has Chris not aged?! And of course, those last four words.

My favourite Instagram posts this month:

Grand place, Brussles as the lights start waking up

A post shared by leah-marie smith (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Sorry not sorry for all the pics from Brussels…

I had a rather lovely day in London this month, during which my parents and I did a tour of the Houses of Parliament which was SUPER INTERESTING. The only thing that was kind of sad is that despite the fact that MPs are constantly on their phones during PMQs, you aren’t allowed to use your phone or take photos while in the building, there were so many ridiculously ostentatious rooms and so many pretty bits of design work and I’m worried I won’t be able to remember them!

What I did on YouTube this month:

What I loved on YouTube this month:

Firstly, Hazel Hayes did a Tipsy Talk with Amy Adams which was wonderful, she also made this little animation which was the cutest thing ever and I did love September’s instalment of Time of the Month, no matter how late it is! Philip DeFranco explained how the American Voting System works – I knew it was a bit more complicated than in Britain by wow, how did that system even come about? Lex made a beastly favourites to advertise Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, she also did a slightly spoilery review of the Gilmore Girls revival and I agree, so… Check it out! Also, Wes Anderson made a Christmas themed advert for H and M, yes, you did read that right. It’s amazing, watch it here!

Leave a Reply

