Bean juice pancakes?!

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

sam_1567

So I made a post about vegan pancakes last year, but this year I found a different recipe and thought I’d give it a try!

You will need:
A frying pan
Something to grease your pan with
200g flour
200ml soya milk
1 table spoon olive oil
1 table spoon sugar
1 table spoon maple syrup
40 ml aquafaba (chickpea water. Bare with)

So, let’s talk about the chickpea water.
I have seen on the internet you can use it instead of eggs, so I did. Basically, open a can of chickpeas and drain the water out, keep it though, measure out 40ml and add it to a bowl with the rest of the ingredients, give it a whisk and you’re ready to go!
Now usually I would read while baking, but I was making these while the Robert/Aaron wedding was going on and ya’ll know they’re my problematic ship, so pancakes and getting emotional over soap characters. Standard.

Pour the mix into your frying pan, heating for about 2 minutes on each side and then covering with the toppings of your choice! These did have a chewier texture than I’m used to, but I was using gluten free flour which may have been why, they were certainly the easiest pancakes to flip! So, though the idea of using the water out of a chickpea tin sounds weird, it actually worked really well!

Leave a Reply

